My Make-Up Staples…

Every woman will have beauty products they cannot live without, and being of the womankind I too have a few staples I rely on.

 

1. Foundation

That’s right, this baby complexion is not natural! I like other mere mortals wear foundation, in fact, until recently I had awful skin and only this made me presentable to the outside world.

I have tried quite a few brands and types and have found that Rimmel’s lasting finish 25 hour foundation is the one for me.

The texture is thick yet light on the skin, it blends really easily and pretty much lasts all day, and at £7.99 it hardly breaks the bank.

My shade is ivory.

LastingFinish25HourFoundation_PRODUCT_01

2. Powder

Powder seems to be magic dust, it sets your foundation and just gives your face make up the finish it needed.

I tend to stick to the same brand as my foundation, something in my head believes they work better together but who knows, usually I have Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent.

BUT last time I did my make up haul they were out and, being a staple, I could not wait so at the moment I have Maybelline Matte Maker Powder, which is okay, but it isn’t quite right, I guess I am just set in my ways!

Both are £3.99

Untitled

3. Blush

A touch of rouge can  bring even the most gaunt to life, or in case show some definition (round face syndrome).

I have found that many blushes are too heavy, they go on too strong no matter how light the touch.

That was until I found Bourjois, Bourjois’ Little Round Pot Blush is perfect, it even comes with a little brush, I prefer to use a proper blusher brush though as it can come out a bit uneven with the little brush.

My shade is Rose Frisson.

 

rose_frisson_54

4. Mascara

This is one product that can instantly change to look of someone, taking my sleep deprived tired eyes and turning them into ‘whaddaya know, I am awake’.

I don’t stick to one type of mascara, always tempted to try the new ones in order to get those long luscious lashes, which has yet to be achieved. I am currently using Scandaleyes: Retro Glam by Rimmel, just because retro was in the name, but to be honest I am not a fan. The best I have tried has been Rocket Volum’ Express  by Maybelline, so if I had to go back to one type, it would be that one.

mascara

5. Kohl Eye Liner

Kohl eyeliner isn’t just for Goths and Emos, these little pencils are very versatile and can create a range of different looks. I prefer to use it from the outer v to about half way across my waterline. This opens my eyes up and adds edgy definition, it is usual to use it the whole way across your waterline but this just makes my eyes look tired. On occasion i use it on my eye lids but this is only when I cannot bear the stress of liquid liner lines or when I am in a rush. I currently use Rimmel’s Soft Kohl pencil but this is only because it is cheap, I am sure there are better ones out there but this does what it is told.

 

Rimmel Eye Pencil2

6. Lipstick

And lastly a good lippy. Marilyn Monroe’s lippy was recently voted as the most iconic beauty trend of all time and Dita Von Teese swears by having a good lipstick on hand. I couldn’t agree more. Being 5’1” and looking pretty young, I feel that a touch of rouge on the lips takes me from looking like a tired 12-year-old to looking like a somewhat glamorous 22 year old undisclosed age. My lipstick of choice is Rimmels Superstay 24hr, it kind of does what it says to be honest, despite being quite anal about taking my make up off at night I have definitely woken up with some red left on my lips the next morning. The wand makes it easy to accurately apply, without the need of carrying around a lip brush.

The only criticism I have is that it does not mix well with food and drink, so take it as, 24 hours IF you do not drink or eat, but if you are in fact human you will probably have to re-apply.

My preferred shade is Cherry Pie, but this has been hard to get hold of so I have been sporting the Red Passion shade, which is lighter but still as glam!

lipstick

What make-up can’t you live without?

One thought on “My Make-Up Staples…

Leave a Reply

